All About Degrees in Astrology and How They Can Help You Understand Your Birth Chart (2024)

When it comes to understanding astrology, it's essential to note that the well of knowledge is infinite. Think of every insight and lesson as a chance to peel back the layers of an onion. Since we've covered moon signs and stelliums, it's time to analyze another portion of the birth chart: degrees.

Degrees in astrology are a way to forge individuality in the zodiac and claim the energy that connects with us on a soulful level.

Knowing the relevance of essential degrees will help you clarify why there are rowdy Virgos, impatient Libras, or, as Olivia Rodrigo says, “spicy Pisces.” Critical degrees add a wealth of knowledge and insight to who we are at the core. Which is all the more reason why they are crucial to comprehending one’s birth chart.

A Guide to Stelliums and What It Means for Your Birth Chart, According to an Astrologer

Below, a breakdown of what degrees in astrology mean.

What are degrees in your birth chart?

Zodiac signs and planets fall at a specific place in the sky. This is known as an astrological degree. These degrees give meaning and depth to the hidden characteristics of the sign and planet, allowing us to understand their internal forces on a deeper level.

For instance, if your sun falls at zero degrees Aries, which is a sensitive point, you will embody the true essence of the sign. However, if it falls at 29 degrees Aries, that can mean you rush to evolve into something different, more significant or better. Zero degrees Aries would encourage you to stop and smell the roses, unlike 29 degrees Aries, which would push you to move forward without patience.

Degrees in astrology are vital to getting to the next level and layer of understanding the complexities of the sign. It makes two Aries different and enhances the uniqueness between two people and birth charts.

A Guide to the Planets in Astrology and What They Mean in Your Birth Chart

What is the significance of degrees on your birth chart?

In a birth chart, degrees can add flavor to the zodiac sign and planet. For example, if Venus falls at 15 degrees Taurus, this could mean that you are someone who yearns to connect with others on a spiritual level. On the other hand, having your sun at 15 degrees Libra could mean you are more daring and irrational than other Libras.

Certain degrees create a personal dynamic that heightens our connection to the universe and forge our cosmic individuality.

What is the degree theory in astrology?

The degree theory looks at a zodiac wheel as consisting of 360 degrees. Since there are 12 zodiac signs, we then divide 360 by 12, making the maximum number of degrees by sign or planet 30. These degrees come in handy when trying to determine one’s persona and understand their birth chart.

Sabian symbols are also a vital part of the degree theory. Created by astrologer Marc Edmund Jones and clairvoyant Elsie Wheeler in 1925, Sabian symbols are the 360 phases that correspond with each degree on the zodiac wheel.

They bring imagery and assign a story to certain degrees. For example, 11 to 12 degrees Aries represents a flock of wild geese, while five to six degrees Gemini depicts workers drilling for oil. (The complete list can be calculated and found here).

What are the critical degrees for each sign?

We can find nuance and understand how any sign acts by looking at its specific degrees. Each sign has particular degrees that bring out their energy in an extreme way and can change the overall vibe.

Below are the pivotal degrees of each sign:

Aries: 1, 13 and 25 degrees.

These degrees are passionate and goal-oriented.

Taurus: 2, 14 and 26 degrees.

These degrees are hyper-focused on love and creativity.

Gemini: 3, 15 and 27 degrees.

These degrees are extra curious and chatty.

Cancer: 4, 16 and 28 degrees.

These degrees make someone extremely sensitive and nurturing.

Leo: 5, 17 and 29 degrees.

These degrees can make the fiery sign very dramatic and selfish.

Virgo: 6 and 18 degrees.

These degrees can make the Mercurial sign rigid and inflexible.

Libra: 7 and 19 degrees.

These degrees can add erraticism and criticism to the forefront of their personality.

Scorpio: 8 and 20 degrees.

These degrees bring more intensity to the water sign.

Sagittarius: 9 and 21 degrees.

These degrees increase the need for freedom and travel.

Capricorn: 10 and 22 degrees.

These degrees make one goal and success-oriented.

Aquarius: 11 and 23 degrees.

These degrees increase fanaticism and rebellion.

Pisces: 12 and 24 degrees.

These degrees bring out mysticism and intuition in the water sign.

Furthermore, there are degrees for each modality — three classifications that categorize each sign— and strengthen their overall vibe:

Cardinal signs: Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn are the cardinal signs of the zodiac. They are the ones who start a season, with Aries starting spring, Cancer initiating summer, Libra bringing in the fall and Capricorn starting winter. Their critical degrees are 0, 13 and 26.

Fixed signs: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius are the fixed signs, the builders and doers of the zodiac. Their primary roles are to maintain equilibrium and keep tradition in the zodiac. Their critical degrees are 8, 9, 21 and 22.

Mutable signs: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces are the philosophers and restless changers of the zodiac. Unlike fixed signs who like establishing a norm, mutable signs do just fine with welcoming new changes. Their critical degrees are 4 and 17.

What does it mean to have critical degrees in your birth chart?

Critical degrees in a birth chart are sensitive points that can affect how a person relates to the world, themselves and others. They are markers for beginnings, endings, and transformation. A critical degree in the birth chart can make you more sensitive and intuitive and push you to work harder to attain what you want most.

It's important to remember that astrology has no wrong or right aspects. It is just the energy that you are meant to work with in this lifetime. Having these triggers in our birth chart indicates that you need to focus your energy on making shifts that allow you to transcend and transform by utilizing the power that the degree adds to the zodiac sign and planet.

All About Degrees in Astrology and How They Can Help You Understand Your Birth Chart (2024)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Laurine Ryan

Last Updated:

Views: 6419

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (77 voted)

Reviews: 84% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Laurine Ryan

Birthday: 1994-12-23

Address: Suite 751 871 Lissette Throughway, West Kittie, NH 41603

Phone: +2366831109631

Job: Sales Producer

Hobby: Creative writing, Motor sports, Do it yourself, Skateboarding, Coffee roasting, Calligraphy, Stand-up comedy

Introduction: My name is Laurine Ryan, I am a adorable, fair, graceful, spotless, gorgeous, homely, cooperative person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.